Festive Christmas Music – Thomas Clamor, Ruth Ziesak, Sächsische Bläserphilharmonie

23.12.2015 23:35

On Wednesday, 23 December 2015 at 23:35, the festive Christmas concert with the Sächsische Bläserphilharmonie, soprano Ruth Ziesak and theRundfunk-Jugendchor Wernigerode, which was recorded at the church of St. Mary in Marienberg, will be airing on German TV channel mdr.

The concert program includes:

1. Wolfgang Schumann: Christmas Toccata
2. Gloria in Excelsis Deo
3. George Frideric Handel: Arrival of the Queen of Sheba
4. George Frideric Handel: Let the bright Seraphim
5. George Frideric Handel: Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion
6. From Heaven above to Earth I come (trad.)
7. Richard Wagner: Elsa’s Procession to the Cathedral
8. Blest Mary wanders through the thorn (trad.)
9. Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Excerpts from the “Nutcracker” Suite
10. Felix Mendelssohn: Christmas / In Advent
11. Lo, how a rose e’er blooming (trad.)
12. Felix Mendelssohn: For He shall give His angels charge
13. Let us listen, blessed angels (trad.)
14. Eduard Ebel: Snow falls softly at night
15. Sweeter the bells never sound (trad.)
16. Richard Eilenberg: St Petersburg Sleigh Ride
17. Roger Harvey: Festive Cheer
18. John Francis Wade: Adeste fideles
19. Engelbert Humperdinck: Evening Prayer
20. Siegfried Köhler: A thousand stars are a cathedral
21. Franz Gruber: Silent night, holy night
22. Oh, how joyfully (trad.)

Sächsische Bläserphilharmonie
(The Saxony Philharmonic Wind Orchestra)
Thomas Clamor
Ruth Ziesak,Soprano
Rundfunk – Jugendchor Wernigerode
Peter Habermann,Chorus Master
Ensemble Sonora

The concert is also available on DVD and CD.

Year of production:2013
Recording Date:28.11. – 02.12. 2012
Recording location:St. Marienkirche, Marienberg
Production company:
Co-Production Company:MDR
Associated Production Company:Arte
Director:Ute Feudel