• A concert for New York 9/11 Alan Gilbert Philharmonic Mahler ARTE-logo-JM.ai



A Concert for New York – New York Philharmonics & Alan Gilbert

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 2 Resurrection

New York Philharmonic
Alan Gilbert, conductor

New York Choral Artists
Dorothea Röschmann, soprano
Michelle DeYoung, mezzo-soprano

The New York Philharmonic – America’s preeminent symphony orchestra – gave A Concert for New York to mark the tenth anniversary of the events of 9/11. What work could be better suited to the occasion than Mahler’s “Resurrection” Symphony with its “evocation of every aspect of life” and “its profound sense of hope”, as the Philharmonic’s Music Director Alan Gilbert put it? This concert became an unforgettable event, a “consistently impressive” performance with “gripping playing”, “magnificent” soloists and an “excellent” chorus (The New York Times).

Bonus: Alan Gilbert and Zarin Mehta on A Concert for New York

“… the camerawork, the orchestra, soloists and chorus are clearly inspired by the sense of the moment and are perfectly in sync with the Gilbert reading.”   blu-raydefinition.com
DVD                                                                       Blu-ray
amazon 30pxjpc 30px white                                         amazon 30pxjpc 30px white
Bonus:Alan Gilbert and Zarin Mehta on "A Concert for New York"
Bonus Running time:14:00 min
Bonus Languages:English
Bonus Subtitles:German, French, English
Disc Formats:,
Number of Discs:1 (DVD), 1 (Blu-ray)
Picture Formats DVD:16:9 NTSC
Picture Formats BD:FULL HD
Sound Formats DVD:PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1
Sound Formats BD:PCM Stereo, DTS HD Master Audio
Running time:92:00 min
Catalogue Numbers:ACC20241 (DVD), ACC10241 (Blu-ray)
Release Dates:11/2011 (Worldwide)
EAN Code DVD:42 6023483 021 7
EAN Code BD:42 6023483 022 4