Barbara Hannigan – concert & documentary

Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Barbara Hannigan (soprano/conductor)

She crosses boundaries and loves to explore new territory. Barbara Hannigan is one of the most fascinating and multi-facetted artistic personalities of our time. She sets new standards as a singer, conductor, and performance artist. The intimate portrait “I’m a creative animal” takes the viewer into the world of an exceptional musician – a world of both passion and discipline. Her performances possess a breathtaking intensity because of her exquisite vocal technique and virtuosity, musical and theatrical expressivity, and uncompromising engagement. In this concert with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Hannigan both sings and conducts to effortlessly build bridges linking different musical epochs. With a phenomenal performance of Ligeti’s Mysteries of the Macabre, a work for which she is famous, she once again confirms her reputation as the performer of contemporary music – “The audience went wild.” (Neue Zürcher Zeitung)

“She is one of the best musicians out there.”
(Simon Rattle in The New York Times)

I’m a creati
ve animal –Barbara Hannigan
A film by Barbara Seiler

Best Portrait – Festival International of Films on Art 2015

Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Barbara Hannigan (soprano/conductor)
Concert Hall of KKL Luzern, August 2014

Gioachino Rossini
Overture to La scala di seta

Wolfgang A. Mozart
Vado, ma dove? O Dei!
Un moto di gioia
Misera, dove son?

György Ligeti
Concert Românesc
Mysteries of the Macabre

Gabriel Fauré
Pelléas et Mélisande, op. 80


bestenliste-117px-transparent logo              fifa logo

Award for Best Portrait – FIFA 2015


“Barbara Hannigan. known to be a specialist for contemporary music, is heard and seen here in a varied program that she is able to perform masterfully, both as a singer and a conductor.”   Pizzicato



amazon 30pxjpc 30px white



Languages:English, Italian
Subtitles:English, Italian
I’m a creative animal – Barbara Hannigan
Bonus Running time:51:17 min
Bonus Languages:English
Bonus Subtitles:German, French
Disc Formats:
Number of Discs:1 (DVD)
Picture Formats DVD:16:9 NTSC
Sound Formats DVD:PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1
Running time:71:38 min
Catalogue Numbers:ACC 20327 (DVD)
Release Dates:05/2015 (DVD, Worldwide)
EAN Code DVD:4260234830873