• Claudio Abbado Lucerne Festival Orchestra Schäfer Banse Ganz Mozart ACC20244_cover_300dpi



Beethoven, Mozart – Claudio Abbado, Lucerne Festival Orchestra

Claudio Abbado
Lucerne Festival Orchestra
Christine Schäfer, Juliane Banse, Bruno Ganz

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphony No. 35 in D major, Haffner, K. 385

Misera, dove son! – Ah, non son io che parlo, K. 369
Ah, lo previdi! – Ah, t’invola – Deh, non varcar, K. 272
Vorrei spiegarvi, oh Dio!, K. 418
Christine Schäfer (soprano)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Incidental music to Goethe’s tragedy Egmont, Op. 84
for soprano, narrator and orchestra
Juliane Banse (soprano), Bruno Ganz (narrator)

All are equal before the work, before the mysteries of a score; this was Claudio Abbado’s heart-felt conviction. For him, the willingness to be open to one another and to the independent life of musical processes was the only prerequisite for making music. In the live performances documented here for the first time on DVD/Blu-ray, Abbado could be sure of the devotion of these world-class artists: the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ORCHESTRA, the sopranos Christine Schäfer and Juliane Banse, as well as the actor Bruno Ganz. They shared his credo of “listening togetherness” (DIE ZEIT) that made possible those precious moments of musical truth toward which this great conductor strove throughout his life.


Diapason-dor-Arte-300x300 logo



amazon 30pxjpc 30px white



amazon 30pxjpc 30px white



Languages:German, Italian
Subtitles:German, English, Korean, Japanese, Italian
Disc Formats:,
Number of Discs:1 (DVD), 1 (Blu-ray)
Picture Formats DVD:16:9 NTSC
Picture Formats BD:16:9 NTSC, FULL HD
Sound Formats DVD:PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1
Sound Formats BD:PCM Stereo, DTS HD Master Audio
Running time:89:12 min
Catalogue Numbers:ACC20244 (DVD), ACC10244 (Blu-ray)
Release Dates:03/2015 (DVD, Worldwide), 03/2015 (Blu-ray, Worldwide)
EAN Code DVD:42 6023483 042 2
EAN Code BD:42 6023483 043 9