• ACC20258 Claudio Abbado, Lucerne Festival Orchestra - Mozart Requiem Cover Prohaska



Claudio Abbado, Lucerne Festival Orchestra – Mozart Requiem

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Requiem in D minor, K. 626
Edition by Franz Beyer, Sanctus completed by Robert Levin

Claudio Abbado
Lucerne Festival Orchestra

Bavarian Radio Choir, Swedish Radio Choir
Peter Dijkstra (Chorus Master)

Anna Prohaska (Soprano), Sara Mingardo (Alto), Maximilian Schmitt (Tenor), René Pape (Bass)

“The baton is not a magic wand – it cannot join together the fragmentary work that Mozart composed in the face of death. Yet, in Abbado’s hand, the baton could become a guide to the mysterious, sublime, consoling legacy of Mozart.”(Deutschlandradio Kultur)

Mozart did not write the Requiem as despairing funeral music for his impending death. Rather, the piece proclaims eternal light and redemption. Together with a first-class quartet of soloists, the choirs of the Bavarian and Swedish radios and the distinguished musicians of the Lucerne Festival Orchestra, Claudio Abbado uncovers this more hopeful and forgiving essence of the Requiem.


DVD                                                        Blu-ray

amazon 30pxjpc 30px white                          amazon 30pxjpc 30px white


Subtitles:English, Japanese, Latin
Disc Formats:,
Number of Discs:1 (DVD), 1 (Blu-ray)
Picture Formats DVD:16:9 NTSC
Picture Formats BD:16:9 NTSC, FULL HD
Sound Formats DVD:PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1
Sound Formats BD:PCM Stereo, DTS HD Master Audio
Running time:60:33
Catalogue Numbers:ACC20258 (DVD), ACC10258 (Blu-ray)
Release Dates:09/2013 (DVD, Worldwide), 09/2013 (Blu-ray, Worldwide)
EAN Code DVD:42 6023483 040 8
EAN Code BD:42 6023483 041 5