Music – A Journey For Life – Riccardo Chailly

A documentary by Paul Smaczny

“Without inner fire, without physical energy, this profession would be unthinkable,” according to Riccardo Chailly, in whose style of conducting accuracy and elegance are unforgettably united with an inexhaustible temperament. This is clear in Music – A Journey for Life, the first film portrait of the Italian maestro, which accompanies him working with the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, at La Scala in Milan, and in rehearsals for La Bohème at the Palau de les Arts Reina Sofía in Valencia. Chailly’s impressive physical and mental strength lend a uniquely personal dynamic to the musical processes and the collaboration between the conductor and musicians. Music – A Journey for Life also reveals the private person Riccardo Chailly, for whom the rigorous study of scores and time with his family are as important as a steady routine is not.

Edvard Grieg – Piano Concerto in A minor, op. 16
Lars Vogt, piano
Riccardo Chailly, Gewandhaus Orchestra Leipzig

Also included on this DVD is a fiery performance of Edvard Grieg’s Piano Concerto in A minor with the amazing and inspired playing of Lars Vogt. With animated tempi, rhythmic precision, and pointed articulation, Vogt and Chailly let us hear the work as if for the first time.

logo icma 2017



amazon 30pxjpc 30px white


Languages:English, German, Italian
Subtitles:German, French, English, Korean, Spanish, Italian
Disc Formats:
Number of Discs:1 (DVD)
Picture Formats DVD:16:9 NTSC
Sound Formats BD:PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1
Running time:93:07 min
Catalogue Numbers:ACC20254 (DVD)
Release Dates:01/2016 (DVD, Worldwide)
EAN Code DVD:4260234831054