Nikolaj Znaider, Riccardo Chailly – Mendelssohn and Beethoven – Violin Concertos

Nikolaj Znaider, violin
Riccardo Chailly
Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

Felix Mendelssohn
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in E minor, Op. 64
Ludwig van Beethoven
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, Op. 61

The Daily Telegraph describes Nikolaj Znaider as “the most stimulating young musician playing today, drawing on musical intelligence, perception and dynamism to give performances of rare intensity.” This release presents one of the world’s foremost violinists playing two landmark concertos, accompanied by the Leipzig Gewandhausorchester – “one of Europe’s finest orchestras” (The Guardian) – under the baton of its music director Riccardo Chailly. It was the Gewandhausorchester that, in 1845, first performed Mendelssohn’s Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in E minor. Mendelssohn himself had conducted Beethoven’s Violin Concerto in D major several times and helped this milestone in the history of music to its great breakthrough.

Johann Sebastian Bach
Partita No. 1 in B minor, Sarabande
Partita No. 2 in D minor, Sarabande

bbcmusic_choice_logo-copy       logo icma 2017

“A perfect muscial marriage”   BBC Music Magazine

“Znaider’s Beethoven is almost impossibly sweet-toned and controlled. [..] The Mendelssohn is wonderfully fleet and fluid.”   Gramophone Magazine

“Fresh and vivid performances of both the Beethoven and the Mendelssohn Concertos.”   Remy Franck, Pizzicato


DVD                                                                        Blu-ray

amazon 30pxjpc 30px white                                         amazon 30pxjpc 30px white



Disc Formats:,
Number of Discs:1 (DVD), 1 (Blu-ray)
Picture Formats DVD:16:9 NTSC
Picture Formats BD:16:9 NTSC, FULL HD
Sound Formats DVD:PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1
Sound Formats BD:PCM Stereo, DTS HD Master Audio
Running time:84:49 min
Catalogue Numbers:ACC20345 (DVD), ACC10345 (Blu-ray)
Release Dates:02/2016 (DVD, Worldwide), 02/2016 (Blu-ray, Worldwide)
EAN Code DVD:42 6023483 088 0
EAN Code BD:42 6023483 089 7