• Mahler 2 cover Neo Rauch Riccardo Chailly Gewandhausorchester



Riccardo Chailly & Gewandhausorchester Leipzig: Mahler 2

Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 2 in C minor

Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
Riccardo Chailly

Soloists: Christiane Oelze (Soprano), Sarah Connolly (Mezzo-Soprano)

Choirs: MDR Rundfunkchor, Berliner Rundfunkchor, GewandhausChor

The Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra and their Music Director Riccardo Chailly have already acquired legendary status – glorious reviews and many awards for their recordings testifying to their continuing success. At Leipzig’s International Mahler Festival, to mark the centenary of Mahler’s death, they performed his monumental Second Symphony in the Gewandhaus – together with two marvellous soloists and choral forces quite beyond compare. About the final movement the composer said: “The increasing tension, working up to the final climax, is so tremendous that I don’t know myself, now that it is over, how I ever came to write it.” The painting “Morgenrot” was chosen by internationally acclaimed artist Neo Rauch to feature on the cover of this release on DVD and Blu-ray.


 choc-de-classica logo          diapason-or logo


“… the clarity, range and depth of sound, allied to the exceptional quality of the singing and playing, are certain to impress.”Gramophone Magazine

“… the bright tone of the strings, the slightly dry timbre of the brass and the delicacy of the woodwinds all illuminate this ‘Resurrection’ Symphony.” – Diapason


DVD                                                           Blu-ray

amazon 30pxjpc 30px white                     amazon 30pxjpc 30px white


Disc Formats:,
Number of Discs:1 (DVD), 1 (Blu-ray)
Picture Formats DVD:16:9 NTSC
Picture Formats BD:FULL HD
Sound Formats DVD:PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1
Sound Formats BD:PCM Stereo, DTS HD Master Audio
Running time:95:42 min
Catalogue Numbers:ACC20238 (DVD), ACC10238 (Blu-ray)
Release Dates:09/2011 (Worldwide)
EAN Code DVD:42 6023483 017 0
EAN Code BD:42 6023483 018 7