Riccardo Chailly & Gewandhausorchester Leipzig: Mahler 7

Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 7

Riccardo Chailly
Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

“It is my best work, with a primarily cheerful character”. This was Gustav Mahler’s assessment of his Symphony No. 7, which was also highly regarded by Arnold Schoenberg, who said, “I had an impression of absolute peace based on artistic harmony. Something able to set me in motion without recklessly unsettling my center of gravity.” Riccardo Chailly, in his internationally acclaimed interpretations of Mahler’s symphonies – which he and the Gewandhaus Orchestra are bringing together in a complete cycle – focuses on the musical qualities of the works, eschewing false pathos and sentimentality while giving up none of the music’s dramatic intensity.

“Even in a field of remarkable performances – this of all symphonies requires a terrifying amount of preparation – there’s none better than this one.”   BBC Music Magazine

“Mahler’s Seventh Symphony, in which the composer pulled out all expressive stops and revealed himself to be an innovative modernist, has seldom been as persuasive and direct as in Chailly’s interpretation.”   Frankfurter Neue Presse.


DVD                                                              Blu-ray

amazon 30pxjpc 30px white                           amazon 30pxjpc 30px white



Disc Formats:,
Number of Discs:1 (DVD), 1 (Blu-ray)
Picture Formats DVD:16:9 NTSC
Picture Formats BD:16:9 NTSC, FULL HD
Sound Formats DVD:PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1
Sound Formats BD:PCM Stereo, DTS HD Master Audio
Running time:83:35 min
Catalogue Numbers:ACC20309 (DVD), ACC10309 (Blu-ray)
Release Dates:09/2015 (DVD, Worldwide), 09/2015 (Blu-ray, Worldwide)
EAN Code DVD:4260234830996
EAN Code BD:4260234831009