• The Philharmonics Waltzes ACC_20228_Cover 300dpi



The Philharmonics

Tibor Kováč first violin, Shkëlzen Doli second violin, Thilo Fechner viola, Stephan Koncz cello, Ödön Rácz double bass, Daniel Ottensamer clarinet, František Jánoška piano

Guests: Walter Auer flute, Christoph Traxler harmonium

Johann Strauss II
Rosen aus dem Süden arr. by Arnold Schoenberg
Kaiserwalzer arr. by Arnold Schoenberg
Lagunenwalzer arr. by Arnold Schoenberg
Wein, Weib und Gesang! arr. by Alban Berg
Schatzwalzer arr. by Anton Webern

Leopold Godowsky

Fritz Kreisler
Marche miniature viennoise
Schön Rosmarin
Caprice viennois

Tibor Kováč
Yiddische Mame

The Philharmonics, the ensemble founded by members of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, fill the Café Sperl with some of the most authentically Viennese sounds imaginable – the Strauss waltzes that Schoenberg, Berg and Webern arranged and performed in May 1921 to raise funds for their pioneering “Society for Private Musical Performances”. This is music the players have in their blood, and they maintain the echt atmosphere with Godowsky’s tribute to the city, “Alt-Wien” and a clutch of Kreisler gems, rounding the programme off with a new piece by the ensemble’s leader Tibor Kováč, based on traditional Jewish melodies and Mahler themes, “Yiddische Mame”.

Bonus: How Schoenberg came to arrange Waltzes by Strauss

This production was supported by Casinos Austria, Österreichische Lotterien and ARAG Österreich AllgemeineRechtsschutzversicherungs-AG.

“… one of the great DVDs of the year.”    Musical Pointers

“Tibor Kováč and his Philharmonic colleagues perform chamber arrangements of Viennese waltzes to the very highest musical level. […] The venerable interior of the  legendary Café Sperl provides them with an appropriate background.“   Wiener Zeitung


DVD                                                                   Blu-ray

amazon 30pxjpc 30px white                                     amazon 30pxjpc 30px white




or order here:

Bonus:How Schoenberg came to arrange Waltzes by Strauss
Bonus Running time:10:05 min
Bonus Languages:German
Bonus Subtitles:German, French, English
Disc Formats:,
Number of Discs:1 (DVD), 1 (Blu-ray)
Picture Formats DVD:16:9 NTSC
Picture Formats BD:FULL HD
Sound Formats DVD:PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1
Sound Formats BD:PCM Stereo, DTS HD Master Audio
Running time:64:20 min
Catalogue Numbers:ACC20288 (DVD), ACC10288 (Blu-ray)
Release Dates:10/2011 (Worldwide)
EAN Code DVD:42 6023483 015 6
EAN Code BD:42 6023483 016 3