• Martha Argerich Mischa Maisky Luzern Sinfonieorchester Neeme Järvi ACC20224_DVD_COVER



WORLD PREMIERE: Martha Argerich, Mischa Maisky and Luzerner Sinfonieorchester

Martha Argerich, piano
Mischa Maisky, violoncello
Luzerner Sinfonieorchester
Neeme Järvi, conductor

Antonín Dvořák: Scherzo capriccioso in D flat major, op. 66
World Premiere – Rodion Shchedrin: “Romantic Offering”
Double Concerto for piano, violoncello und orchestra
César Franck: Sonate for violoncello and piano in A major
Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 9 in E flat major, op. 70

At one of her rare appearances with orchestra, Martha Argerich, the grande dame of the piano, joined forces with world-famous cellist Mischa Maisky and the fabulous Lucerne Symphony Orchestra for the world premiere of a newly commissioned work by Russian composer Rodion Shchedrin – “Romantic Offering”, a double concerto for piano, cello and orchestra dedicated to its very first soloists. The programme was rounded off by late-Romantic masterpieces by César Franck, Antonín Dvořák and Dmitri Shostakovich’s Ninth Symphony under the baton of renowned maestro Neeme Järvi.

“I’ve attempted to depict and highlight the most distinctive individual qualities of these two musicians … Romantic Offering should inspire new thoughts and experiences. Music isn’t only the product of experiment. It should move your soul and touch your heart.” Rodion Shchedrin

Bonus: Behind the Scenes of a World Premiere


“… the concert is directed with unobtrusive excellence by Michael Bayer, and presented to the high standard already established by Accentus Music.”The Classical Review

“… superb little quarter-hour documentary expertly directed by Maria Stodtmeier …”  (5 Stars) – BBC Music Magazine


DVD                                                                 Blu-ray

amazon 30pxjpc 30px white                               amazon 30pxjpc 30px white



or order here:

Bonus:Behind the Scenes of a World Premiere
Bonus Running time:16:20 min
Bonus Languages:English
Bonus Subtitles:German, French, English
Disc Formats:,
Number of Discs:1 (DVD), 1 (Blu-ray)
Picture Formats DVD:16:9 NTSC
Picture Formats BD:FULL HD
Sound Formats DVD:PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1
Running time:111:36 min
Catalogue Numbers:ACC20224 (DVD), ACC10244 (Blu-ray)
Release Dates:06/2011 (Worldwide)
EAN Code DVD:42 6023483 013 2
EAN Code BD:42 6023483 014 9