Daniel Barenboim, Staatskapelle Berlin – Anton Bruckner Symphonies Nos. 4-9 (box set)

Anton Bruckner’s symphonies are gigantic mountain ranges carved out of sound, traversed by steep chasms, broad steppes, and dark valleys. The effect of their performance is comparable to the exalted feeling of reaching the summit of a mighty peak. Daniel Barenboim guides the Staatskapelle Berlin to the heights of Bruckner’s lofty sound formations. With a vision hewn from experience, Barenboim follows the harmonic development of the symphonies 4 through 9, revealing to us the breathtaking musical panorama of these exceptional symphonic masterpieces. “Heard together, one understood so much about this strange music, with its obsessive monumentality, terrifying expressive strength, and dizzying compositional syntheses of elements from the Middle Ages to Schubert and Wagner.” (Berliner Zeitung) This unforgettable Bruckner cycle sets new standards, and guarantees the Staatskapelle Berlin and their principal conductor “a place in the Bruckner pantheon.” (Der Tagesspiegel)

disc 1 = Symphony No. 4 in E flat major
(1878/1880 Version) “Romantic”

disc 2 = Symphony No. 5 in B flat major
(original version)

disc 3 = Symphony No. 6 in A major
(original version)

disc 4 = Symphony No. 7 in E major
(original version)

disc 5 = Symphony No. 8 in C minor
(second version 1887–90) (Robert Haas Edition)

disc 6 = Symphony No. 9 in D minor
(original version)

Please follow the links above for all symphonies available as single DVD or Blu-ray.


DVD                                              Blu-ray

jpc 30px white                 jpc logo


Disc Formats:,
Number of Discs:6 (DVD), 6 (Blu-ray)
Picture Formats DVD:16:9 NTSC
Picture Formats BD:16:9 NTSC, FULL HD
Sound Formats DVD:PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1
Sound Formats BD:PCM Stereo, DTS HD Master Audio
Running time:428:17 min (6 discs)
Catalogue Numbers:ACC70217 (DVD), ACC60217 (Blu-ray)
Release Dates:10/2015 (DVD, Worldwide), 10/2015 (Blu-ray, Worldwide)
EAN Code DVD:4260234830934
EAN Code BD:4260234830941